The Guardian's Pulitzer

This week the Guardian won the 2014 Pulitzer prize for public service. It is an amazing moment to be part of the organisation, which after all has a lot of people doing a lot of mundane stuff day after day to create the platform from which you can change the world. I feel proud of what the Guardian has done and I do feel that my job has made some kind of contribution towards to making this possible.

It has been a strange time after the Snowden revelations, the UK government succeeded in having a chilling effect on reporting in the whole of the UK with their ongoing commitment to what they term "national security" and persecution of anyone who questions it. There is no doubt in my mind that winning awards like the Pulitzer is an important part of justifying the reporting that the Guardian has been doing and restoring some press freedom in the UK.

It is moments like this that makes working at the Guardian different from any other job I have had.