Josh Whedon's Much ado about nothing

One of my Christmas presents was a copy of Whedon's take on Much ado about nothing. Shot in black and white and featuring a lot of Whedon's regular television collaborators the entire film was shot in Whedon's (large) house and nearly in chronological order.

I like the play, it's one of my favourite Shakespeare pieces, but I was also curious to see how Whedon would handle it.

I wasn't disappointed the film is clever and makes great use of the Californian environment and stellar talent Whedon has access to. The performances are universally great and while the language is a little laboured at times the flying barbs and mockery flows well.

Of the interpretations of the material, I liked the idea that Borachio is in love with Hero but felt that the idea that Benedick and Beatrice had a one-night stand prior to the play doesn't really fit in with the idea of Hero's public "shaming".

One absolute standout is Nathan Fillion's performance as Dogberry. It is one of the best I've ever seen and almost crying with laughter funny.

It was a great present and I think this version of the play stands equal to any of its predecessors.